The bright spot of the day

Today I had one of those days that just feels like a Monday.  I didn’t want to get out of bed. I had to get the boys ready for school amid arguements,  dragged myself to job #1, slogged through that before moving on to job #2, than had a tough time at that.

For those of you that don’t know me, one of my jobs is at the school in our neighbourhood and a big part of my job there is to report any student issues that occur while the teachers are not in the room.  In todays case there was  one class that I had 5 issues to report.

In this job I am usually dealing with students in grades 3-6, but today due to snowfalls last night and illness going around the school, we were short 2 people in the primary room, so that’s where I ended up.

Part of the reason why that one class was so difficult today was because their routine was thrown off.  Their teacher was working without a voice and they are a fairly energetic group to begin with.

My day hadn’t gone very well, so I did what I always try to do when I am in a sour mood: I looked for a positive, and I found it!

After making my daily ‘issue reports’ I sought out that positive.  I had a lone grade two student in my group today and he did everythin he could to help out, including making two trips to another area of the school to run class errands.  I wanted to pass on that he did everything in his power to make the day better for everyone.

Just before exiting the school for my one hour of household errand time of the day, I went to his classroom door.  His teacher was in the middle of explaining a reading lesson, so rather than interrupt I stood in the doorway to wait for her to finish what she was saying.  Only one student in the class saw me standing there and he too  waited for her to finish before letting her know that they had a visitor.

The teacher greeted me and I (making sure that I was speaking in a way that the whole class could hear me) let her know that ‘Sam’ (name changed) spent time with my group earlier and I wanted to let her know about something that had happened.  Sam looked at me with a puzzled expression.  I told the class that we were with the primaries and Sam was a huge help!

A huge smile broke across Sam’s face and he started wiggling in his seat, rather reminicient of an excited puppy!  The teacher than told me that today is Sam’s birthday too.  I glared at Sam accusingly and demanded to know why he didn’t tell me.  Sam received a happy birthday wish and a heartfelt thanks from me and a classroom reward from his teacher….and me?  I found my bright spot of the day with the smile that Sam gave me.

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The bright spot of the day

  1. Pingback: Some people just make our lives feel a lot more awesome! | The J85

Leave a Reply

