Inner Communication

A coworker asked me an interesting question yesterday (purely out of curiosity I was assured, and I tend to believe her). She asked me how I knew I was pregnant (almost a decade ago) before the pregnancy test(s). I couldn’t give her a real answer, all I could say was “I just….knew.”
I don’t meditate, I don’t do yoga, I don’t spend a lot of time in deep reflection, but I know my body. Since I was 15, I have always been able “hear” what it is telling me. If my left eye twitches, I’m overtired. If my legs start to twitch, I haven’t had enough exercise that day (this only seems to happen on that odd Sunday…). If my ears start to feel funny, it’s probably been awhile since my last hit of caffeine.
There are tons of other little things that tell me what my body wants/needs at any given time. These are constant, our bodies ALWAYS want or need something. I think that the fact that I pay attention to and address these needs is what makes me able to tell what I am being ‘told’. I know, kind of circular….
Ten years ago and again eight years ago, I knew I was pregnant. I didn’t experience morning sickness, mood swings, cravings (though I did have a red meat aversion, it made me feel sick just thinking about it), but I KNEW! I also knew that both my children were boys (even though sonogram sex determination is very expensive here and I never felt the need for it). I knew that I would do everything I could for a natural birth of my first son (I succeeded) and that, though I wanted this with my second, for some reason this wouldn’t be possible (he ended up being an emergency c-section).
I have figured out that most cravings (which I now do experience) are because my body needs something in whatever I’m craving. I don’t usually take the time to figure out what my body is missing, I eat what it is telling me to.
Remember that I said most cravings, some cravings are just personal wants. I have also learned to distinguish between the two.
Tonight I cooked supper. Nothing new there, I cook 6 out of 7 nights a week (#7 is cleanup night). For some reason though I could not face eating what I had cooked (haddock, creamy mashed potatoes and corn)…I was craving a peanut butter sandwich. Of all the things to crave..a peanut butter sandwich!
While the kids dove into their hot, home cooked supper, I sat down with my peanut butter and jam sandwich. They asked me why I was eating a sandwich when supper had been cooked. I told them I was craving it so that’s what I was eating. They thought on this for a minute and the only reaction was “Yay…we’ll have leftover fish!”
I know that my body is “happy” with my decision to eat a sandwich. I know my body wants lots of other things right now, but needs nothing. I knew that I was pregnant then, I know I’m not now (and doubt I ever will be again). I know I’ve gone off in a different direction than planned on this post, but I know there’s no fixing it now.

When has your body ‘spoken’ to you? Did you listen to it or ignore it? Does it still talk to you? If so, what did it say today?

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inner Communication

  1. beachmum says:

    I knew I was pregnant too. I don’t know how I knew it but I did. I also knew I was having a boy before the ultrasound. Don’t know how or why, but I did. For me, tired achy legs signal I’m really REALLY tired. Zonked tired. Twitchy eye=stress. Stomach growling=I need cookies. Or something like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

