Kidless…for now

I read a post yesterday on momknowsbetter (http://momknowsbetter.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/but-i-dont-wanna-share/) that made me think. In my situation (no contact with the other “parent”) I was thinking how nice it would be to have a break from the kids for just a day or two.
Incidentally, yesterday was was sister’s birthday so the kids went to spend the night with Grammy so that my sister could celebrate like an adult. I am now sitting here, 12 hours after I dropped them off thinking that it is quiet in my house. Really quiet….TOO quiet. I miss my boys. I don’t know how people cope with the whole co-parenting thing. I would go batty if they were gone more than a day or two at a time without me seeing them. My kids are my life, my life is my kids. We may not spend a lot of time going out or even doing anything special, but we are all together.
Right now I would probably be chewing at them to cut out the arguments and help me clean up (which will probably be done before they get home today) so that we can go play in the schoolyard before it starts to rain.
Making my tea this morning, there was no cereal box sitting at T’s spot at the table. I always have to remind him to put the cereal back when he is done breakfast. The table looks lonely. There are no blankets draped on the furniture….it looks so bare…I am constantly telling the boys blankets belong on the beds, not in the living room.
While it was nice to have the option to sleep in, I didn’t. I was up at 8:30…yesterday’s 7:30 due to the time change.
Well…I guess it’s time to get that cleaning done….maybe we will have time to head to the schoolyard when they get home…and this afternoon while it’s raining? Maybe they’ll want to fingerpaint…

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

