Hour-Long Conversations

I don’t consider myself to be a very exciting person. I am not that deluded. I find my life pretty routine and boring actually, but somehow I end up talking to my best friend for at least an hour every day. Sometimes it’s all new news, a lot of times it’s going over something we have briefly discussed before, and even more often it’s about our kids or opinions about what was on the news/happened on one of our favorite shows/that thing that the so-and-so at the school said.
Maybe I need to put more of that day-to-day stuff on here…it seems to keep us entertained pretty well…though that may just be because we’re both single moms and have no social life…..

Let’s see…new news:
Halifax Metro Transit strike has finally ended. Buses are back on the roads! This isn’t super new, but it is the newest news that means a lot to me. I don’t drive, I walk or bus. Busses back on the roads means I don’t feel as trapped in the immediate area. I can go out for coffee again…just ’cause. I can go down to the museum or up to the library. Even better? The busses are free this month!

My boys:
Today was day 7 of March Break and the video games are yet to come out.
We have gone to the theatre twice. We saw Dr Seuss’s The Lorax (Monday) and Journey 2(Friday). In my opinion, The Lorax wasn’t the best choice. I know it is a movie with a message, but I was expecting the laughs and playfulness that comes along with Dr Seuss. I told my BFF that her son would not enjoy this movie. I know there are a lot of people out there who won’t agree with my opinion but she will take my word for it. That’s the great thing about friends. Journey 2? LOVED it! Awesome action movie for kids with plenty of laughs and edge of your seat moments that kids love. Oddly enough, we found it to be an extremely relaxing movie at the same time. I told my friend I would be willing to buy this movie (the highest recommendation I give children’s movies).
Tuesday was the first time we went to the museum over the break. We went to the museum of natural history and were able to see all the normal exhibits the boys love, the two newest ones, and take in two presentations. For the first time the boys were able to fully complete the grey seal skeleton that is on display (they even got all the ribs in the right spot). Their favorite part was the visiting marmosets though (we’re going to see them again tomorrow).
On Wednesday and Thursday the boys spent the day with my mother while I was working. Mom was reorganizing as my brother’s stuff continues to make it’s way out of her place. After work I ended up hanging around mom’s while she went to give my dad a ride home from work. The weather was terrible…rain, hail, freezing rain, and snow. We thought we would end up stuck there. Around 6:30 the roads began to clear though and we made it home for the night. Friday was shoe shopping day (see previous post https://thej85.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/getting-ready-to-run/ ).

What happened on our favorite shows:
The two major shows are Grey’s Anatomy and Once Upon a Time, but every once in a while we’ll add another in there for interest’s sake. These two shows have been driving us CRAZY lately. I think Grey’s had a different writing team for a few of their shows and I hated those episodes. They are now back on track but I’m still a little miffed at them about those. Also, both shows have been stop and go for the last few months, so we are constantly trying to figure out when the new episodes are going to be on. As neither show was on today, I don’t have any immediate reactions to either at the moment (I find it more amusing and realistic if reactions are given immediately after watching).

Maybe after reading this you realize I am pretty dull….but I will keep writing no matter what people think. My opinions are there and I like having this option for throwing my opinion out to others…

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hour-Long Conversations

  1. Pingback: It’s Funny How Things Work Out.. | The J85

  2. CurvyElvie aka Elvira Jorge says:

    I don’t think you are boring at all. I enjoyed this post immensely.

Leave a Reply

