MY Library

—Whether rich or poor, residents of the United States or China, illiterate or college graduates, parents who have books in the home increase the level of education their children will attain, according to a 20-year study led by Mariah Evans, University of Nevada, Reno associate professor of sociology and resource economics. (To find out more about this study, visit http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/05/100520213116.htm)

I WISH I had 500 books in my home. It is something I have room for: I could probably add another 350 to the approximately 350 I already have. My goal is to fill all my bookshelves.
I wonder though if this study specifically means books that are owned by the household or the actual number of books in and available to the home. Those not owned by us would put us a little closer to that magic number. Actually, they’d put us well over it.
We spend quite a bit of time at our local library. A minimum of ten books for each of the kids and approximately twenty for me are checked out during each visit. The kids also visit the school library once a week each. They get two books apiece there. My mother and sister combined probably have close to the same amount of books that I do and we freely share between households.
About half the books in my home are children’s books, the rest are non-fiction books, YA novels or adult fiction. Every gift event (birthdays, holidays, special rewards, grading, etc) is met with at least one book. Our home book collection started WAY before I ever heard of this study.
As this post is about MY home library, I’ll tell you my thoughts on the books on my shelves for me. I have mentioned in a previous post (https://thej85.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/less-than-a-month-in-the-blogging-world/) that I prefer fantasy/supernatural novels and that YA novels have more of a selection of “my type” of books, so I spend more time reading those than novels written for adults. That is not to say I don’t enjoy adult novels as well.
For some reason, I have always been drawn to series (I think this started with The Babysitters Club…). If I ever HAD to put my favorite authors in order, I would have a difficult time getting past the first (Kelley Armstrong) and second (P.C. Cast) slots. Thank (insert preferred deity here) I don’t have to! Series that I feel worth note currently on my bookshelf are:

-Kelley Armstrong’s (http://www.kelleyarmstrong.com/) : Women of The Otherworld series, Darkest Powers trilogy, first book of Darkness Rising trilogy, and Nadia Stafford series
-P.C. and Kristen Cast’s House of Night (http://www.houseofnightseries.com/)
-P.C. Cast’s (http://www.pccast.net/) : Divine trilogy and Partholon series
-Tom Clancy’s Net Force
-James Patterson’s Witch and Wizard trilogy (http://www.jamespatterson.com/books_witchAndWizard.php)
-Kate Forsyth’s Rhiannon’s Ride trilogy (http://www.kateforsyth.com.au/)
-T.M. Nielsen’s Heku series (http://www.hekuseries.com/)

Some words/opinions about each series:

WOMEN OF THE OTHERWORLD
The best series ever written! The only bad thing I can say about this series is that there is only one book left 😦 A believable mixing of the supernatural world and the world as we know it. This series has made me look around me and actually wonder if the supernatural really could exist that way. In my opinion, this is a sign of a well written fantasy novel! P.S. Elena is my favorite character!

DARKEST POWERS/DARKNESS RISING
YA version of The Women of the Otherworld series. The Edison Group plays a big part in these books as a common antagonist. Great reads as well.

NADIA STAFFORD
Another of Kelley Armstrong’s series. Not as strong as her other works but still a decent read.

HOUSE OF NIGHT
YA series. Like Women of the Otherworld, makes you wonder about the world we live in, yet in this case, you KNOW this isn’t real. Love the way vampires are depicted as chosen ones instead of cursed!

DIVINE TRILOGY and PARTHELON
A wonderful depiction of a mythical matriarchcal world that is “next to” the one we live in. I would love to visit there sometime….for now I guess I will have to content myself with P.C. Cast’s stories of this primative yet magical world.

NET FORCE
A real-feeling series about a law enforcement organization of the future (or what was the future when this was written). This is the book version of CSI, exaggerating the number of things one LEO (law enforcement officer) does/gets caught up in during a case. I use this series as a break when my brain is overloaded with fantasy worlds.

WITCH AND WIZARD
YA series. Awesome books to get elementary students to broaden their reading horizons. Apparently I am not the only one who thinks this…L got another full set of these books for his birthday, so now the school has a set too. Interesting political undertones that is a magical, modernized, Americanized version of George Orwell’s Animal Farm.

RHIANNON’S RIDE
An Australian series that I found while creating a library at a (former) workplace. I love this series so much that I purchased a set for myself. Not able to find Kate Forsyth’s books in any bookstores or on Canadian websites, so I have to order any of her works from Australia. Did you know that Australia to Canada shipping takes ten weeks? I’m waiting for another one of her series now…

HEKU
My one question about this series is why didn’t I find it until a week ago? I am still reading this series and get lost in it for at least an hour every time I open one of the books. Totally addictive!

Maybe seeing me lost in books all the time is what makes my kids “read in the aisles” (https://thej85.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/reading-in-the-aisles/).

After seeing my reading preferences, have any suggestions as to what would make a good addition to my shelves?

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

