Cute Stories #4: The Mother’s Curse

It has been quite a while since I did one of these and I’m not sure why. Time to get back to work on them though and where better to jump back into them than the one that I’ve been talking about all along? Enjoy!

My mom used to tell me these cute little stories when I was growing up and before my own children were old enough to speak. These seemed like cute little things that she just HAD to be making up. She also told me what she called the “mother’s curse” which I also believed had to be just another story. Well, all I can say now, 9 years after my first child was born, is LISTEN TO THE STORIES YOUR MOTHER TELLS YOU! These stories probably aren’t made up, and mom isn’t telling them to you as a joke…it’s real!

Cute Story #4:
The Mother’s Curse. My mom always told me that her mother had cursed her by saying the mother’s curse over and over. She said that she knows it worked because her grandmother said it to her mother too. She has always said that it came true in me too. I am waiting to see which of my kids will prove the curse true again.
My mother always uttered the curse when I was seriously misbehaving. It came up more in my teenage years than it did when misbehavior was arguing with my siblings or upset about having to eat my supper before dessert. I always had to wait for her anger to subside before hearing any more than the curse as I was walking away. I’ve said this to L and lil miss a few times already and I expect to say it a whole lot more to all of them over the next fifteen years.
When L has a hissy fit or lil miss starts whining about something that isn’t even worth getting upset about they hear “One of these days, you’ll have a kid just like YOU!” This is a mark of extreme frustration. It always was for my mom too. When the curse is uttered, children disappear. The mom who said it needs a few minutes to calm down, and the kids know this without having to hear any more.
I have made sure that the kids know about this curse BEFORE frustration kicks in though. I have explained to them that it has been used through the generations and how it has proven true.
I have used it in the positive sense too, when good report cards come home, when a chore is done so well that it exceeds expectations, when sporting achievements are made, or when positive comments are made about them by other parents or teachers. They can usually anticipate when the positive curse comes around. Kids know if they’ve done something good or bad, so they know when to beam with pride and when to hide.
I am kind of glad that this has proven so true. I hope that this means I will be able to figure out exactly what/when at least one of my kids does something wrong as I have already done it. Maybe it would help me to prevent them from doing some things I did when I was a teen too…
I am also kind of hoping that the “me” my mom was referring to did come true by spreading through the four kids I am now closest to. L has my temper and academia. T has my lack of an “indoor voice” and ability to have friends in every “clique” without alienating those in other cliques. Lil miss whines and loves to read more than any other kid I’ve ever met. Lil Mr immediately reacts to any situation by trying to take control and is very social, he will smile and say hi to anyone who looks like they would smile back.
While having one kid who is “just like me” could be good in some ways, I think it would drive me completely around the bend. Here’s hoping that my traits will continue to be divided into more than one child. Having “a kid just like me” would probably be more than I could handle….

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

Related posts:

Cute Stories #1
Cute Stories #2
Cute Stories #3
Cute Stories #5

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cute Stories #4: The Mother’s Curse

  1. Pingback: Cute Stories #3: It’s a Bumpy Ride! | The J85

  2. Pingback: Cute Stories #1: “Mom?”! | The J85

  3. Pingback: Cute Stories #2: The First Birthday Party | The J85

  4. Pingback: Cute Stories #5: Mom Eyes | The J85

  5. Pingback: Cute Stories #6: You Can’t See Me! | The J85

  6. Pingback: Searching For Cute Stories About Mom? | The J85

Leave a Reply

