Quick, teacher!

Today was a good day at school. Not only did we complete today’s PTA to-do list in preparation for the big fundraiser this coming weekend, the kids were generally well behaved. I spent the whole day at school but came home at the end of the day feeling a sense of accomplishment.
For the first time in almost a month, I was back with the grade 3-6s today. I forgot how much easier it is on that side. I had no negative reports to make to the teachers today. I was, however, reminded of a story I was going to tell the last time I was on that side that I didn’t get to post for some reason or other.
One day, for some reason or another, I was the only one with the whole group. Being the only one with approximately 100 kids meant I was constantly on the move between five classrooms. One room has more than forty students, one room has eight, and the other three have near twenty. The room with forty and the one with eight are on opposite ends of the hall. Obviously, I spend the most time in the room with the most students, but I check in on all of them frequently. The day in question was no different.
Near the end of my designated time slot, the kids began to get restless. Dismissing them to their regular classrooms happens in stages according to whichever room they are in. The rooms must be returned to their original state, chairs are to be pushed in, and everyone must be (quietly) lined up. Getting 100 kids to do this at around the same time can be kind of difficult…heck, I have trouble getting the four at home to push their chairs in after dinner.
I had just finished checking in on the large group and headed to check on the other rooms when I heard from the other end of the hall “Teacher!” As I’ve said before, I am not a teacher, but in an elementary school any adult is seen by the kids as a teacher. Let me tell you, when walking through a school, there is no word worse to hear than that panicked whisper of “teacher!” It’s like the panicked whisper of “mom’s coming!” at home.
I, of course, beelined for the room the offending whisper came from. I have no idea how it happened in the few minutes I was gone, but the room was totaled! Desks askew, chairs overturned and scattered, and eight wide-eyed kids looking like deer caught in headlights. Needless to say, they were the last group dismissed that day.
Today was a positive, no issues, productive day. I have to attribute at least a part of this to not hearing “teacher!” whispered from any of the classrooms. Though I have to say, I was listening for it all day!

“Shhh! Mom’s coming….”
No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

