What is it About Walls?

What is it about walls that makes kids think you no longer exist? They are convinced that the barrier provides them with total isolation from adults. Depending on the age of the children, they may see this as a good thing or a bad thing.

A friend of the family has a two year old son. He is currently going through separation anxiety. He totally refuses to be near anyone but his mother. As a natter of fact, he won’t let his mother out of his sight.
She can’t make a move without him and not have it cause problems. If she goes to the bathroom, he stands, staring at the spot she “disappeared” and screams. If she goes into the kitchen for a drink of water and he is not right at her heels, it is only a matter of seconds before he runs to find her, attaching himself to her legs as soon as he can reach her. I can’t imagine! I would go insane. Well, more insane than I already am….

When there are four or more children eating at my house at once (at least four nights a week), I am chased out of the kitchen at mealtime. I am never far away, only through the (open) doorway in the living room. This somehow makes them think they are alone though.
Not being of the age of separation anxiety, my kids tend to (try to) act out. There has been laughing, joking and just playing around at mealtimes. Over the last couple of days, this has been increasingly problematic. Last night L almost choked when he laughed at a joke made at the same time he was chewing.
Given the incident with L last night, I figured they may be a little calmer today. Boy was I wrong! Not only were there the usual antics, they were LOUD. After many “calm down”s, I ended up standing in the kitchen to control the mayhem. My supper would have to wait.

Even though my kids know I have Mom Eyes, somehow that wall can also make them think the rules don’t apply. The kids KNOW I am in the next room, they can hear me talking to them and even answer back. L and lil Mr can even see me from their seats. Somehow though, that wall puts me on a whole other planet….

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is it About Walls?

  1. Momma Margi says:

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Check it out at http://momknowsbetter.wordpress.com Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

