Biology and Vocabulary Surprise

My boys ask a lot of questions about a wide variety of different things. I encourage this and try to answer as many of their questions as completely as possible. Two of their favorite topics are the human body and vocabulary. Given that weird ailments seem to run in our family, biology isn’t an odd topic selection. Language isn’t either, considering I am constantly correcting their grammar and vocabulary choices during conversations at home. On biology:
We have talked about many things from first aid to why your eyes are “squishy”. We’ve talked about the circulatory system, nervous system, and respiratory system. We have even had some reproductive discussions (from the cellular standpoint).
These discussions usually start with a random question. Our most recent reproduction question was “how do conjoined twins become attached?” Honestly, I don’t remember any previous biology discussions beginning with facts spouted out by the boys. That doesn’t mean none have, I just can’t remember any.
Today I guess the boys wanted to change the way these conversations start. We’ll get back to today soon. On language:
The two areas of focus for this topic are plurals and adjectives. As I said before, these topics usually come up when I am correcting them during conversations. Grammar is the big thing that I correct, but that topic doesn’t open many discussions…misuse of grammar is usually because they are excited and talking without thinking the conversation through. Plurals work the same way, though they try to look for reason and meaning in that most messed up part of the English language.
The boys always look for a chance to use any new adjectives they’ve picked up. These usually pop out over supper and in “close, but not quite” descriptions. This blossoms into a description of the adjective and where/when to use it.

Today I had a rough day at work. One of my crew was sick and the other didn’t show up, leaving me all alone. I made the calls I could, but no staff from my store was able to come in. I wasn’t able to reach the other store for the first three (of six) hours of my shift either. By the time help arrived, it was the rush period and leaving the store, even for five minutes, wasn’t an option.
After I had picked the kids up, as I was unlocking the front door, I was doing a little jig from foot to foot. L looked at me with a “what the…?” expression on his face. I told him I needed to pee. His reply? “Well go now. You don’t want to hold it, that can damage your kidneys!” I had to fight the urge to laugh on my mad dash.
When I came out of the washroom, I asked L where he had learned that. I knew it wasn’t from one of our discussions. He informed me “the guy on YTV said it….you know, the guy who talks in the background.”
T took his opportunity to demonstrate his knowledge as well. “L, you mean the narrator.” When I asked him where he obtained his information from, his reply was just as simple. “ Word Girl World.”
Huh, and they say TV is a poor pass time for children. My boys both demonstrated that there is some useful knowledge to be gained from this damaging appliance…

My day ended on a positive note…hopefully the boys continue to surprise me this way!

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Biology and Vocabulary Surprise

  1. I love kids questions! I considered myself so wise before kids, but they can throw you for a loop. The question at bedtime was whether walruses eat people. I had worried about that before. And it seems the Internet can’t say for sure either… (does Jules know?)

    • The J85 says:

      I don’t KNOW 100%, but I would say most walruses probably would not eat (live) people. The seal-eating walruses would be likely to try if the person was swimming with seals though…those are just my best guesses based on what I know of normal animal behavior…did you try http://ask.com/ ?

  2. Momma Margi says:

    My son Loves Word Girl! Its crazy amazing how much their brains soak everything up! He told my mom a few weeks ago that there was a scene in Bambi that was “horrifying”. When my mom asked him what horrifying meant he replied “It means to be scared or frightened. Word Girl taught me that.” What little smarty pants!!

    • The J85 says:

      It’s kind of funny, my boys always liked the educational shows better than the “junk shows” (like junk food, but for TV). Most of the children I have met are like this too. You’re lucky you have one too!
      This foolishness from the AMA about not letting children watch TV if they’re under 2 is obviously not taking these programs into consideration…

Leave a Reply

