Cute Stories #6: You Can’t See Me!

My mom used to tell me these cute little stories when I was growing up and before my own children were old enough to speak. These seemed like cute little things that she just HAD to be making up. She also told me what she called the “mother’s curse” which I also believed had to be just another story. Well, all I can say now, 9 years after my first child was born, is LISTEN TO THE STORIES YOUR MOTHER TELLS YOU! These stories probably aren’t made up, and mom isn’t telling them to you as a joke…it’s real!

Story #6:
You can’t see me! I think the roots of this come from peekaboo, but I don’t know for sure.
“You can’t see me!” is called out by the kid who is just learning hide and seek. Hidden under a blanket, standing with their head stuck in the corner, or just sitting in the next room with their back to you, they honestly believe they can’t be seen. This carries over into public situations too. The kids thunk it is funny to hide from Mommy in the store…as long as she isn’t far away. Ducking behind the nearest clothing rack, they believe seeing them is impossible. The “I can’t see you so you can’t see me” mentality carries into their everyday life and becomes ingrained into their young way of thinking.
At some point, usually around 2 or 3 when separation anxiety kicks in, this hilarious game of making themselves invisible turns serious. They realize that not being seen, especially in public, may not be the best thing in the world. Once they clue in that Mom might not be able to find them while they can’t be seen, an ear splitting, glass shattering, totally embarrassing (for Mom), screech of “MOOMMMYYYY!” can be guaranteed.
While that screech can be humiliating, it’s worth letting them keep playing this game just to see them stick their head in the kitchen cupboard, pop their bum up in the air and call out “you can’t see me!”

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

Related posts:

Cute Stories #1
Cute Stories #2
Cute Stories #3
Cute Stories #4
Cute Stories #5

This entry was posted in children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cute Stories #6: You Can’t See Me!

  1. Pingback: Searching For Cute Stories About Mom? | The J85

Leave a Reply

