My Wasted $3

I love the Dr Oz Show. Dr Oz strikes me as a straightforward, present the facts, knowledgeable doctor. I would love to have a family physician who can talk like him.
Due to, well, my LIFE, I rarely get the opportunity to watch his show. It is on at 1:00 in the afternoon in my area. Any full-time parent can tell you that this is NOT optimal TV viewing time. That time slot is almost always filled with out and about activities or straight up play time.
At some point last week (I don’t even remember what day), for some reason I was home at that time. It was even quiet enough to prompt me to turn on the television. There was Dr Oz, talking about how common it is for chronic fatigue to be attributed to parasites. As a 26-year-old woman who is CONSTANTLY tired, this topic intrigued me.
Granted, I have a hectic, busy life, but I don’t think even that should make me AS tired as I always am. There are people my age living up life, keeping crazy hours, and still able to function with a fairly high amount of energy. I know people who can work a 20 hour shift, in high gear, sleep for a couple hours, than do it again. I can’t. My 6 hour shifts are enough to make me thoroughly exhausted for the rest of the day. I do a decent job of faking a high energy level, but haven’t honestly been there for a few years.
In this episode, Dr Oz listed some simple home remedies to rid yourself of the possibility of parasites zapping your energy. He said these were things he would do even if he just had low energy to be sure parasites weren’t the cause. He made them sound easy, effective, and practically risk free. He did NOT state any potential side effects or list any cautions about these remedies. These remedies were:

Dr. Oz Parasite Prevention #1: Avoid acid reducers
Dr. Chutkan explained that acid protects the body from parasites and blocks the parasites from taking hold. Acid can also stop the growth of parasites.

Dr. Oz Parasite Prevention #2:
Eat 2 cloves of garlic everyday
Garlic breath may not be great for your love life but it is wonderful for the intestinal tract. Garlic, explained Dr. Chutkan is a natural anti-microbial. Eat garlic raw or cooked in food or, says Dr. Chutkan, take 1000mg daily of garlic pills to support the health of the digestive tract and keep those pesky parasites from taking hold.

Dr. Oz Parasite Prevention #3:
Wormwood tea
Dr. Chutkan recommends wormwood tea. Make sure you make it with filtered water. Wormwood tea kills and paralyzes round worm and decreases the spread of eggs. Dr. Chutkan recommends drinking one brewed cup of wormwood tea per day or choose the liquid extract form and add to warm water.

Dr. Oz Parasite Prevention #4:
Papaya seeds with honey
Dr. Chutkan explained that papaya seeds have been proven to remove parasites from the system in studies. Papaya seeds contain a natural enzyme that breaks down protein and thereby kills the parasites. She recommends mixing ¼ of of papaya seeds with 1 tablespoon of honey. Studies showed that the mix killed parasites in 75% of children treated.
(Credit to watchindroz.blogspot.ca for typing all that up!)

The last option seemed to be the one Dr Oz was most enthusiastic about. In fact, I wanted to rush right out and buy a papaya to try it out. I didn’t rush out, but I did pick one up on my next visit to the supermarket. (It cost about $3….)
I, like many people, heard this wonderful idea from a (televised) doctor and thought I’d give it a shot. Before making my purchase, I am ashamed to say, I did not fully research this “remedy”. Once I got this thing home and cut open though, I realized I had NO IDEA how to prepare these seeds the good doctor suggested I drink. To Google!
I did find out how to prepare the seeds (boy, what a pain in the butt!), but I also found out A WHOLE LOT more. I found out that my purchase was just not worth it. I found out that I should have done a Google search FIRST. I found out things that sent that poor papaya to the compost bin.
Having no experience with this fruit, I sought out as much information as I could. I was planning on using the seeds and feeding the fruit itself to the kids as a healthy snack. Seemed like a logical plan until I unveiled some of the not so pretty point of the papaya. Did you know:
•A papaya that is not properly ripened can cause esophageal perforations (holes in the esophagus)? How the heck am I to know if this innocent looking produce purchase is properly ripe? I know NOTHING about it!….
•The seeds of a papaya can have a numbing effect and can constrict the blood vessels. Wha????
•Papaya can induce respiratory difficulties, such as asthma attacks. And I was going to feed this (not so innocent looking now) fruit to 4 asthmatic children….
•People with latex allergies (like 75% of my family….) are likely to be allergic to papayas as well
•Overall side effects of this fruit include severe stomach/abdominal pain, nausea/ vomiting, slow heartbeat, severe drowsiness, inability to move, new or worsening heartburn, chest pain, difficult/painful swallowing, rash, itching/swelling (especially of the face/tongue/throat), severe dizziness, trouble breathing. Wtf!?! Get that THING away from me!!!!
It seemed like a good idea at first blush, but now, not so much. I’ve looked up wormwood tea too, and suffice it to say, I’m going to stay away from that one as well. For now I think I will try to get some sleep.
Maybe I’ll pick up some extra garlic next time I’m at the store…I KNOW I don’t have any issues with THAT suggestion…

No matter how dark the day, the sun is always shining somewhere!

Jules

Credits for the information about papaya side effects go to:
http://www.livestrong.com/article/243376-papaya-side-effects/
http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/mobileart.asp?articlekey=44736&page=2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Wasted $3

  1. Pingback: Loosen Asthma’s Grip On Your Life With These Tips — Symptoms Of Asthma In Adults

  2. teashut says:

    I remember that episode.
    They also forgot to mention that papaya is not a very good tasting fruit.
    Interesting post though.

  3. leezard says:

    I remember an episode where he told women of all ages to put lemon 100% essential oil all over their faces. 0.O
    Have you thought about getting your thyroid levels checked? That was the source of my perpetual exhaustion.

Leave a Reply

